07
Oct
12

Like magic

Photobucket
Photo credit

The missing writing prompt. Slippery like spectacles, pens, wayward socks, car keys, remote controls, earrings. Near impossible to find.

The desire to search—measured against the value of the object and the time at hand—warps trickily into an obsession to search.

Stacks of papers and magazines are peeked under. “Bedaubed”, “mackerel sky”, “demons”, “trapped”, “jeepers”, “black-eyed”, “dripping”, “wildcat”… Not it.

A will toward methodical reasoning wavers above a deadly undercurrent of panicked movements from room to room.

Cushions, pillows, piles of clothes are snatched up and flung aside. “Dog-eared”, “debauched”, “jewels”, “machismo”, “shinbone”, “millions”, “revolver”, “gangling”… Oh, I know it’s here somewhere!

Cliché-laden babble escalates to profanity, serves no other psychological purpose but to fuel the craziness. “Jingle”, “rattletrap”, “scurvy”, “penny dreadful”, “creaky”, “tyrant”, “flibbertigibbet”, “nuclear”… Where the bleeding hell is it???

Headless dashing, scrabbling, digging in baskets, boxes, drawers, opening and slamming doors, cabinets… “Charming”, “badgered”, “troll”, “broken”, “bridge”, “stolen”, “pitch-black”…

A scream!

A loud bang!

Wits end is reached.

And still no sign of it. Like it never was, as if all along only imagined…

157x51
Click here for more entries from other Sunday Scribblings participants.

16 Responses to “Like magic”


  1. October 7, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    There’s no frustration like the wait for a writing prompt. But finally I solved it and now prepare my piece in advance and jig the writing to suit the prompt! At least your list has great possibilities. I particularly liked mackerel sky.

    • 2 zanzinece
      October 10, 2012 at 11:51 am

      Definitely. There are a few ways around the dilemma, perhaps the easiest being changing the name of the site from “Sunday Scribblings” to “TBD-day Scribblings.” Well, if next week’s prompt is late, I’ll go with “mackerel sky” since I fancy it, too : )

  2. October 7, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Clever. And also . . .

    able, adept, adroit, alert, apt, astute, brainy, brilliant, cagey, canny, capable, competent, crackerjack*, cunning, deep, dexterous/dextrous, discerning, egghead, expert, foxy*, gifted, good, handy, intelligent, inventive, keen, knowing, knowledgeable, many-sided, nimble, nobody’s fool, pretty, pro, qualified, quick, quick on trigger, quick-witted, rational, resourceful, sagacious, savvy, sensible, sharp, shrewd, skilled, skillful, slick, sly, smart, sprightly, talented, versatile, wise, witty

    . . . thereby making this a pure joy to read.

    • 4 zanzinece
      October 10, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Oh you’re too kind, Annie, and clever as well. After “mackerel sky”, when the prompt’s late again, I’ll go with “noboby’s fool” out of your collection! And thank you so much for stopping by here for a look : )

  3. October 8, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    This sounds so much like how I sometimes feel when I am trying to write a poem: a search for the prompt that will spark something. It perfectly describes the frustration.

    • 6 zanzinece
      October 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

      Oh gosh yes, a ramped up frenzy of chasing after sparks just makes them flit more magically out of reach! Glad you came buy, Rae : ) I’ll swing by your place in a bit. It’s been a wicked work-week!

  4. October 9, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Vivid, frustrating, humorous!

    • October 9, 2012 at 10:03 am

      I was in his arms oh but a moment ago, sipping champagne; now she’s there, dancing with him and I, while I sit on a brown leather couch with a beer in my hand; this plastic wand has done me in, so I’ll go; for a voice inside of me is saying, no regrets, better him leave now than later yet.

    • 11 zanzinece
      October 10, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Hi Daydreamer! I got a kick out of your response to my landfill comment, so glad you enjoyed it! And thank you for having a look at my folderol here, but not just that, for also clicking that beloved “Like” button! Mwah : )

  5. October 9, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    My goodness! I don’t think you need any help in the prompt department! You’ve compiled a long list. I like this lots!

  6. October 9, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    What a great picture! I enjoyed your description of the final straw – that scream, loud bang, wits end reached! love that description! Maybe because I’ve felt it?

    • 16 zanzinece
      October 10, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Oh I know, it’s priceless! That one picture provokes a universe of thoughts, has got to be the most enticing invitation to…well, I don’t know whether to eat it, or roll in it like a dog, but I just love it! Glad you did, too : )


Leave a Reply

