21
Jul
13

I wander

Nightmare02-grocery-aisles photo Nightmare02-supermkt-aisles_zps01b9f04a.jpg

Photo Credit: “Hard Shopping” by Ekinox

.

It’s a funny thing, the business of balancing

.

the time to day dream, to exist in a pure state of possibility, and to set about creating from the mind’s eye, to feel the joy of inspiration

.

the time to work, to make money to live on mankind’s version of Earth

.

the time to notice the strings of undone things about the house—don’t touch them, not even one, for they are not separate as they appear!

.

the time to be tricked, to touch a string and to follow it like an endless rope that strangles the day

.

It’s like wandering through supermarket aisles in a night dream – I see my list, it’s in my hand, and my intent feels strong and sure, but the floor becomes distant and the aisles are towering strange and resistant to aim and effort – I watch myself wander and gather extraneous things, deaf to my own instruction

.

I find myself at the county fair on a ride with dead controls – I turn the wheel in my hands, it spins, loose, and I slam into task after task, each with a lock to get to the next level, each with a promise that it’s the last one – I watch my lips say And then you can day dream

.

But when will I wake from the night dream? If I don’t, or worse, if I do, and still effect no strength of purpose, I will continue to wander the aisles carrying the list

.

not feeling the quickening of my footsteps pounding or the blood pulsing at my temple

.

just carrying the list

.

to the grave

.

.

Fin

.

157x51
Click here for more on prompt “#378 – Wander” from other Sunday Scribblings participants.

4 Responses to “I wander”


  1. July 22, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Eloquent and quite impressive…

    • 2 zanzinece
      July 23, 2013 at 11:23 am

      Thanks for stopping by Berowne. Really, I’m just pleased to have hit your quiz spot on an easy day! It’s good you have mercy on the mediocre every now and again.

  2. July 22, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    I loved the part about the strings of house work left undone but not to touch them because they are not as separate as they appear. Powerful lines. Very intriguing.

    • 4 zanzinece
      July 23, 2013 at 11:24 am

      Yes, the miserable infinite string! A tricksy thing in this ode among infinite odes to doing-what-you-love-before-you-die. Truly nice to meet you, Donetta, and thank you for hitting the almighty Like button!


Leave a Reply

